Analog output ? problem siemens s200

rbduck1

Good day guys (and gals) I have a question about what is required to get an analog output from a em232 analog output module connected to an s200 siemens cpu. I am fairly new to s200 progamming, but not new to troubleshooting.

I have a test cpu set up with a simple program loaded to test the analog output card. I have a signal enabling the card. I have it set for zero volts at 0 and 10 volts at 32000. I can't seem to get any voltage at the output. The analog output card is brand new. WHat could I possible be doing wrong?

Have you connected a 24V supply to the Analog expansion unit? Is the green light illuminated on the Analog expansion unit?

I appreciate the reply. Yes, I have 24v to the expansion module. The green light is on. Does there need to be a resistive load across the voltage output terminals in order to actually have output and actually see a voltage?

I also have an input enabling the output in the software. At least, I hope it's correct.

I'm catching on to this pretty quick, but I've found many small things I'm doing incorrectly.

Last edited:
If you MOVE a Word to the analog output you should get a voltage, it you were to use the current output then you would need a load. If you have a supply to the expansion unit the next most probable fault is that you are using the wrong analog address. Typically you are should be using AQW0 or if the PLC is an S7-224XP which has onboard analog outputs then you would use AQW4.

You don't need an input to enable the analog output.

If that doesn't solve the problem then post the code and hopefully I should be able to spot the problem.

I assume that you have connected the ribbon cable between the PLC and expansion unit.