Question about Siemens STEP 7 & WinCC

leonlai

Hi folks,
I'm new to Siemens and I have a couple questions:

1) In Step 7 -> Data Block : I try to read/write a bit in a word
(like in RSlogix500: an Touch Panel has 3 button HOA(Hand,Off, Auto), when a button is click, it set bit 0 of a word from 0 to 1)BUT in STEP 7 & WinCC I cannot do that !?

In WinCC & STEP7, I am able to create 3 button with 3 bit (Boolean only)
But I want to create 3 button with 3 bit of a WORD and access them, but I cannot !!

Anybody know how to do it ?

Try DB7.DBX0.0
and DB7.DBX0.1
and DB7.DBX0.2
Data Block DB7
Define "BOOLS" DBX0.0 and so on.
Use as bits in your program, etc.
Don't forget to set a bit (Aut0 for example from the screen) but at the same time Reset the 2 other bits (Hand & Off).
This can be done with logic or via the HMI tag using the "On Press" set bit AUTO and Reset bit Hand and Reset bit Off

In WinCC & STEP7, I am able to create 3 button with 3 bit (Boolean only)
But I want to create 3 button with 3 bit of a WORD and access them, but I cannot !!
What version of WinCC is it ?
v5, v6, v7, Flexible 2004, Flexible 2005, Flexible 2007, Flexible 2008, v10.4, v11 or v12 ?
In WinCC Flexible and WinCC v10+ there is a function "SetBit" which you have probably used. "SetBit" requires a BOOL tag.
To set a bit within a WORD tag, try the function "SetBitInTag".

JesperMP is right, I search online and they said they same like bkottaras but I dun quite get it !
I think because I first started with TIA Portal Integrate & I use Ladder Logic Programming, not STD or C or VB !
I used TIA Portal v11 SP2 update 5
Is that possible anybody can show me step by step ?

The reason I want to do it because I want to set ALARM in Wincc Advance
I coding in STEP 7 with all data is BIT
but WincCC Advance ALARM is showing WORD only, so that I dun know how to convert BIT to WORD

Please help

So you want to simulate that an alarm gets activated ?