RSlogix500 network programing.

Lazybean

First off, thanks to this community for being a great source of information to me for years. I have been an electrician for 15 years now, and this place has been an immense help when i have PLC troubles. Please bare with me as this might be long winded.

I have taken over all MRO for a bulk export facility(conveyor and dust collector systems mostly), which is a Frankenstein of 1968-2006 parts and technology. I have relay logic, (2)GE LM90, AB SLC 5/03 & (2)AB Micrologix 1200. I have been tasked with "updating" all the PLCs to current off-the-shelf availability, since I can no longer find any LM90 replacement parts.

Our program needs are very basic, And i have been able to troubleshoot and maintain the system for the last few years without issue. The one area I am having real trouble with is the networking. In 2006 I replaced part of the old GE LM90 with two of the Micrologix 1200, networked to the SLC5/03. All three use adapters to connect to a fiber optic Ethernet we installed. The Programer hired at the time used 4 [MSG] commands at each plc. 1 read and 1 write going to each of the other PLCs. with a timer setup so each one goes in sequence. WE only need to share a few digital inputs and outputs between the units, with only a single Analog output from one unit to a single other.

My only problem with this is the time delay between them. It currently takes 5 sec when the farthest conveyor has a shutdown, for the next one to stop. So every time there is an over flow of product on the tail of the conveyor.

If i am going to be Replacing the remaining (2)LM90 with 1200 (simplest and cheapest solution), I need to find a way to reduce that time delay. Most units are 200m away, with the farthest being 300m.

The AB class i took years ago just skimmed over networking, and im not sure what class or book i can get to help me better understand what i need to do. Any help or info would be great.

Thanks!

Last edited: