SLC 5/05 "Internal software error" ?

bawaller

Hello,
I have been experiencing a SLC 5/05 fault which has been occurring at what seem to be random times. It has happened about 4 times in the last 2 weeks. To get the PLC running again, I have been re-downloading the program. Even though this "fixes" the problem, I have no clue why, and what's causing it, and how I can really fix it so it will not happen again. Here's some additional info that might be helpful, along with a pic of the screen I got this morning when I went online with the faulted plc and clicked "go to error". Also BTW, I'm new to PLC's, and this is my first post, so please bear with me. Thank You, Byron

- the red battery LED indicator is on steady which means I guess the battery needs changing?
- when this happened the other times, I couldn't even go online or upload. Performing a download was indicated by a dialogue box to be the only option. And i believe I recall seeing "no user program" at one time.
-When trying to get online with the faulted PLC...the RsLinx window would show the plc with a red X on it, until I cycled the power on the plc, then Linx seemed to see it again.
- This does not seem to be associated with any power outages or brown outs.
- Clicking "clear Fault" or "clear major error" does not work.
- The original programmer/provider went online with the processor the first time this occurred and indicated he found (and fixed)an issue with the RTC in the status files. I didn't see what he did though. He is not a readily available resource, so I'm not getting a lot of info from him.

Thanks again for any help you can provide!
Byron

SLC 5-05 go to error screen.jpg

See picture below for more info on error code "8h"

And post your program if you can zip it first.

errorcode8h.png

Thank You Mickey,