Do-More Programming vs RSLogix

iadapt

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hey guys I was asked to install a simple HMI and PLC in a tumbling machine. I only need a couple of editable timers. I can easily create a program using RSLogix but I'm new to Do-More "stage"? programming.

Whats your thoughts about the Do-More Programming system?

It appears to me that I have to learn a whole new programming system (almost) I guess its really just the interface but ....x%$*(&*, my initial thoughts aren't very happy.

However the hardware seems quite useful and flexible, but your thoughts?

Thanks.

Paul

In the Do-More program go to the help then down to 'Stage Programming Concepts'. It's kind of a mini tutorial. If the program can be analyzed in a 'this happens' until 'that happens' then start doing the next thing, then Stage can handle it very well. Come back with questions.

There's also the forum at Host Engineering who created that CPU and the programming package.

As far as timers, think of the RSLogix 500 timers but without a .EN or .TT bit. Everything else is there. For a preset they can take a constant (viewed as time down to milliseconds), or a variable from one of the 'D' registers (32 bit signed) number of milliseconds. Access the variable time from the HMI by pointing to the 'D' variable you choose.

Math - think of RSLogix5000 with only the CPT instruction available (actually there are a couple others). In this it is a MATH instruction.

No 'drag-and-drop' of instructions but otherwise just normal ladder. Check out the 'Program Organization' section of the Start Page.

Good luck.

Last edited:
I'm pretty much stuck in the Allen-Bradley mode – so I'm not quite sure if Do-More "stage programming" is the same thing as Automation Direct "stage programming" ... but if it is, this post has helped a lot of folks get started with the basic ideas ...

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?p=41722&postcount=15