S7 program locked

haggis

Hi,
I am trying to access an S7 prog that appears to be locked. I should point out I am new to S7 although I have worked with S5 quite a bit.
In the project tree I can see the usual suspects OB,DB,FB,FC. Some have a padlock against them however if I try to open anything I get an error message along the lines of “nothing assigned”.
In the IO assignment list I can find no I or Q bits and there’s a ton of real world IO, some of which is behaving quite strangely. Plenty of M bits but nothing to tell me what they are?
What am I doing wrong or has the program been disabled beyond all recognition.
Have looked into S7Canopener ( not compatible with my software V5.5 I believe) or possibly a dbf editor. Will unlocking it help ?

The padlocks are because the blocks are protected by a strong 128-bit encryption. It is called "Block Privacy". The encryption cannot be broken without the proper key.

Jesper
Would the encryption explain the fact that i cant even find an IO assignment list.
How do i get the proper key ?

Thanks

I dont know what you mean by IO assignment list.
Only the original programmer can give you the key for the blocks protected by 'block privacy'.

Perhaps i am muddying the waters here with my lack of S7 experience but i cant find any inputs/outputs in the program. Memory bits(M) sure but no Is or Qs anywhere and the rack is full of input and output cards. Could this be hidden or blocked too?
Also when you say block privacy is this the same as Know_How_Protect i have seen some reference to.
Hey thanks for your help so far.

It is possible that the inputs and outputs are accessed in the protected blocks. In that case they do not appear in the cross reference either.

'Block privacy' is a much stronger protection than 'know_how_potect'.

I may have spoken too early when I assumed that the blocks are protected by block privacy.