Set/reset function

Mia

Hi,

I'm struggling a little here with a stupid function that I'm sure has a very easy answer.

Using the program iTrilogi I can't find a set/reset function for the outputs!! Does this program not have that? is there any other way I can do this??

Please help!!

Mia

Welcome to the forum, I have never used a iTrilogi program but if you can't find set/ reset which is basically a latch/unlatch you can roll out your own. You can do this by "sealing in" the output that you want to stay on until the reset is pressed that unlatches the latched output. If you want an example, just simply search in the search field "seal in" and you should find tons of examples.

let's be careful here ...

I have ZERO experience with the software that you mentioned – but be careful ...

in an Allen-Bradley system when you use a "seal-in" type construction, then the output will NOT turn back on again after a power-down situation ... but with an actual Latch/Unlatch construction the output CAN indeed come back on unexpectedly ...

so ...

the question that you need to ask yourself is this: do I really want the output to "come back on again" at power-up? ... or not? ...

part of the problem is that many programmers use the terms "latch" and "seal-in" interchangeably ... they are not the same thing – and the differences between the two programming methods can lead to "surprises" ...

surprises in this particular area can be expensive – and dangerous ...

the thread below discusses most of the concepts involved for Allen-Bradley and Automation Direct ... whether either one of these works the same way that your software works remains to be seen – but you really need to explore the basic ideas ...

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?p=71786&postcount=1

good luck with your project ...

Last edited:
The iTriLogic instruction that locks in a bit output is called "Latch".