4 -20 ma analog output problem

rajayogan

Dear friends,
Presently I am working in a water treatment plant where T&C is going on, we are using VFD to control motors while commissioning we ordered one technician to measure the 4-20 ma output from PLC to VFD, instead of measuring in series he connected multimeter parallely to the wires in the terminal box that means literally i think he short circuited the plc output 4-20ma, we had 100 ma fuse also in the circuit. In this scenario i assume that fuse should have blown biut nothing happened to the fuse or plc card but VFD input(4-20ma) started malfunctioning i couldnt understand what really happened i am really new to the profession can someone please explain me?

What type of PLC are you working with?

100mA is actually quite a large fuse for a 4-20mA circuit. I usually use a 32mA fuse.

What voltage are you feeding your loop? Check the voltage between the +and - of your PLC analog output. Check the voltage between the + and - of your VFD analog input.

thank u for the
response sir , we r using Siemens s7 plc, and altivar 61 vfd , i don't know about the voltage will check tmrw but can u give me a general idea what happens when we short circuit the 4-20 ma (not a loop powered one) wires by wrong usage of multimeter. thanks in advance .

Most PLC outputs are sources and current limited. I'm guessing your tech actually shorted the +24 VDC to the VFD input, but not through the Multi-meter (which has it's own internal fusing).

I often check voltage across (in parallel) two terminals of a 4-20 loop with no problems, as long as I've remembered to set the multi-meter to measure voltage. If I forget and have the meter set to measure mA then I blow the fuse in the meter, but I don't damage the circuit. I have done this so often that the standard field kit contains a package of fuses for the meter!

Last edited: