Please Review - DirectSOFT5 Program

iadapt

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hey Guys,

I have a very small program I wrote for work, I was wondering if I could get some input.

The program has manual controls:

Vacuum ON/OFF
Tumble ON/OFF
Tumbler Raise/LWR

And an auto program as well.

Their are 4 adjustable timers, all to control the vacuum. The tumbler runs FWD the entire program and the the tumbler position is set manually before the auto program is started.

The vacuum is off for the first timer, on for the second, off for the third and on for the fourth.

Any input is welcome, just know that I am new to auto directs PLC's I also have an auto direct HMI screen that I designed the program for as well.

Thanks and lets keep adapting.

I see you a lot of repeating stuff, like auto, just use it as one input, if not auto then it is manual.
use some markers for results, like auto tumbler and manualtumbler
if any is on then run tumbler.
like line 3 i see auto start input and autostart memory only one is needed the whole ladder is checked all the time.

I agree with shooter on the redundant logic. For example, you already wrote the logic for Auto Start (rung 8), so there's no need to repeat it in rung 3. Just use the C3 contact.

It appears that you can use the manual pushbuttons while in auto. For example, notice that if you push the REV button while in auto, the REV output will turn on. Do you want this?

I would probably put one-shots on the UP, DWN, FWD, and REV inputs, and use the one-shots to drive the logic. Just in case an input gets stuck ON for some reason. You might also want to use normally-closed contacts on the two STOP inputs, and invert the logic for them. A broken wire will render those buttons useless.