timer problem

PLCben79

hi, i am very new to plc programming so please bear with me.

i am currently writing a simple ladder program part of which detects the speed of a slow moving conveyor using the pulses from the rotary encoder as the input.

the program i have written counts the pulses on X0 over a 5 second period. and uses that info to work out the speed and store it in memory.

this speed is then used to work out the timing of a delay before activating an output to turn on a solenoid.

my problem is that when simulating the program it appears that the program waits for 5 seconds before following the next steps in the ladder.

this will create a problem for me as if the timing delay for activating the output and switching on the solenoid is less than 5 secs then the timing will be way off.

i could reduce the timer to less than 5 seconds however it doesnt really solve the problem.

is it possible to activate a timer and let it run while the PLC scans the rest of the ladder and then uses the information stored in memory on the next scan, and similarly i dont want the time delay for the activation of the output to impact the scan time of the program.

i am using an Mitsubishi FX1S PLC and GX Works 2, i am using the internal timer M8013 for 1 second timing to increment memory address d1 and then using the line >= d1 k5 to stop the timer and start M0 which does the mathmatics to work out the speed as I know that each pulse represents 150mm

any help much appreciated

Hello,

Can you post your code here? I am curious if you are using the SPD instruction. If not this may be something to look at. See section 5.6.7 in the programming manual. I tried to attach the manual but it is too big. You can download it from Mitsubishi's website it is manual # JY992D88101-D

Hope this helps,

Dave

dave the spd function is perfect for what i am trying to achieve.

furthermore plsy function on the next page is of further help for the output of my program

thank you