New to plctalk.net

sparkytex

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello every one! I just joined the forum in hopes to learn from the experienced members on the site and share what I know as well. I'm 26 years old living on the north end of Vancouver island working at a pulp mill. I'm a journeyman electrician by trade but just recently accepted a position on staff to train as the systems technician (plc programmer). The gentleman is 66 years of age and is ready to retire and pass the torch. I have a little working knowledge on PLC's mostly with discrete programming and little to no analog programming. We have about 20 allen Bradley PLC 5's and 11 SLC500's on site which half the PLC 5's are connected via DH+ and the other half upgraded to a Ethernet processor. We also have Delta V systems that use the PLC 5 as a remote I/O. The guy im training under doesn't really have to time to train me and instead wants to me to go away to aquire PLC training. Im registered for a course for july 15th but in the mean time i'd like to get ahead and start learning asap. I was looking at the PLCS.net 5 disk DVD set and was wondering if any of you have bought them and would recommend then for my application (PLC5 and SLC500)? thanks for any input, brian

Welcome to the site - no problems we will happily mislead you.šŸŗ

at the end of the day any understanding of logical control will help you have a look at the download section of this site.
you need to prepare yourself for the inevitable change over of PLC's from old to new.
there are heaps of student questions/posts on this site.
CONVEYOR / TRAFFIC LIGHT / ELEVATOR / LIFT controls
Also FLIP FLOP (latching button)
I like to teach relay logic to convert to PLC
- three relays one light one PB
- two way light control
- star delta start
etc
All are well known and a good start