Just an observation

Patrick

Lifetime Supporting Member
When I started to program PLC's. This was when Texas instruments were king. We were called instrument techs. This group slit to instrument techs and programmers. Then Control process technicians. Now I have some of the younger supervisors coming in and saying that their processes control not me. That I’m a programmer. They run the process area of the plant so therefore their process control. Does that mean that I belong to the I.T. DEPT.? And can give myself GOD like powers on my computer? OR did I miss something?:geek:

If they run the process area of the plant, to me that is "operations", therefore they are called "operators" or if they are supervisors they might be called operations manager, or operations supervisor. But that's just me.

But the titles of people whom mess with PLC's varies. In my 7 years I've been called:
Maintenance Technician
Controls Technician
Controls Engineer
Process Controls Engineer

Search the forum you'll come up with all kinds of titles for us folk.

Systems Integrator - I do the lot - design the system, build the panels, program, commission and maintain.

I was an intergater. The company bought the machine with the controller in. i intergated to the rest of the plant. they call at 3AM the computer is down. i go out adjust the photot eye and tell them the computer is fix and their happy.
:p

A company I worked for a number of years back had an engineering department named "process engineering." The three men and one woman in that group wrote documents and drew pictures for operation process sheets.

One thing is sure, none of you studied spelling or grammar.:)
It is good that you are "Techies".

It is good that you are "Techies".