plc labeling machine components help

I am starting a new project which will basically be a labeling machine. I have been buying all my components from automation direct but they don't sell one thing I need. I need some kind of label sensor that can detect the edge of each label which are on a big webbing roll. They are just 2" square white labels with a little writing on them. I did a lot of Google searching and found a couple that say they use m8 or m12 cables, but I don't know how they are supposed to connect to my plc. I would like to be able to have the sensor tell the label motor when to start and stop so the timing doesn't get off. Things just not something I have a lot of experience in.

I appreciate any help in advance. Any kind of 7no will be a big help.

Do a google search for sick sensor. They make a good one
Labeling machines are pretty complicated
Can you describe in detail how the machine works?
The ones I worked on used print mark registration and had to cut the label at the print mark

For label sensing, I have always used Lion Precision. They work VERY well... (y)

http://www.lionprecision.com/label/index.html

I would save the aggravation and just buy a commercial labeller (I like Herma). Quite a few years ago, I retrofitted a few older Quadrel labellers with PLC controls. I reused the existing stepper drivers, and controlled them with CTRIO modules from AD. It wasn't easy, which is why I would recommend buying an off-the-shelf labeller. No need to reinvent the wheel... ;)

🍻

-Eric

labeler