Newbie question. Boolean algebra and ladder logic.

mandydick

So hey guys, new here. Long time listener first time poster. Have a question for you. I'm looking to get into some rudimentary programming. Currently I am a second year electrician with a basic background education in electronics. Generally my only experience with plcs is connecting the inputs or possibly adding things with a programmer present. I've recently come across the need for a small controller 8 inputs 5 outputs that I think would be simplified by the use of a ab1200 or a seimens s7200? Rather than using a bunch of relays. My question is... from what I've seen of plc programs ( and that's not alot)are very reminiscent of my boolean algebra/ digital electronics days. Without any specific training in PLCs but understanding the logic is the programming language that difficult to pick up? Furthermore if I was to take a course primarily on Allen Bradley PLCs could I assume that others such as. SEIMENs are mutually intelligible? I'm not sure how intimidated I should be. Your advice is much appreciated.

Unless you already have the Software for the AB or Seimens then I would recommend starting with Automation Direct. I think you can use Directsoft for free if your program is under 100 words. You could download the programming software for free and write your program. If it ends up being less than 100 words then all you'll need is a couple hundred for the controller.

I would say that Siemens (Simatic Manager) and Allen Bradley are completely different from a GUI point of view. Someone with experience in one would be better equipped to tackle the other but there aren't many parallels between them with regards usage etc.