Weird repeating Siemens issue

jmc013

Lately one of our production lines has been randomly going down. It is all Siemens (S7-300), and about twelve years old, mostly original. The master CPU is a 315-2 DP, the communications processor is a 343-5, and the main HMI is a Simatic OP37/PRO. When it goes down, it gives the error message "No S7 communication peer found" on the HMI, and basically all the LEDs on the CPU and the CP are lit or flashing (I could specify which ones if anyone is interested).

I am new to Siemens, but by playing with the program (not connected to my running line) I have found a diagnostic buffer that I am hoping will lead me to an answer.

I have 2 questions..

1. Does it seem more likely that this is a communications problem, or is the communication error more likely a symptom of a hard fault on the PLC?

2. Anything in particular I should look for while diagnosing? Also, are there any special steps to changing out a module (say, a CPU) or do you just swap it?

Thanks everyone!

Well, I haven't had a chance to check it while online with the machine.. it says it needs the PLC to be in stop, which is hard to do while it is running. Right now I am waiting for either a planned or unplanned shutdown.

Well, I haven't had a chance to check it while online with the machine.. it says it needs the PLC to be in stop, which is hard to do while it is running. Right now I am waiting for either a planned or unplanned shutdown.
You're down the wrong path.
A dignostics buffer will not ask you to put the PLC in stop.
Maybe you're checking out "stacks" or something?
The buffer will display the current status with all the errors/entries but you have to be online.
If you highlight one of the entries and double click on it it will pop up a quick remedey/help menu on the fault.
Or is it display help I'm going by memory here.

So I can check the diagnostic buffer while the machine is running?