Siemens 331 AI Module Signal Fault

Tim James

Let me start by saying I am relatively new to Siemens controllers. I have a 314 CPU with a 331-7KF02-0AB0 AI module attached. The module is setup for 2 wire transmitters (in the hardware configuration and the jumpers). My analog values read just fine, but I have an SF red status LED on the module. Going into step 7, I can see that there is a channel fault error and when I look at the specific diagnostics I can see that all channels 0-7 are showing a wire break fault.

Seems straightforward enough, but I do not have the wire break detection enabled on any of the channel groups. I have disabled 'check for wire break' diagnostic interrupt' and 'hardware interrupt' on the module and I still get a wire break fault on all channels. 4 of the 8 channels are spares so I completely 'deactivated' them in the hardware configuration and I still get a wire break fault even on these deactivated channels.

I have jumped across all unused channels to M_ana and it had no effect. I do not remember seeing this issue on the last 6 control panel setups I have programmed (which all used the same hardware).

Any advice on things to check in the hardware configuration, or another way to disable the wire break faults would be appreciated. Like I said, the analog signals are being read fine, but no one wants a big red fault like on even if everything is working ok. Thanks in advance.

Tim

To further complicate matters, I began programming a second control panel (same hardware configuration as above) and I can't get the dang AI module to 'START'. Program and hardware configuration is downloaded, controller is running, discrete in and discrete out modules work fine, but my raw inputs from the AI module are stuck at zero. All statuses are green across the board.