oxygen sensor

gatfu

Hi all...I currently have an ab ML 1100 with a program that needs to incorporate a PID loop based on an O2 sensor. I have no experience with O2 sensors and I am looking for either a good off the shelf sensor to work with my controller or simply figure out how to pull in the data from the current Lamda sensor i already have. This is an automotive sensor on an exhaust system on a generator. If anybody knows anything about O2 sensors and how to pull the raw data off any help would be greatly appreciated. I basically need to know how to pull in the data to my controller utilizing my analogue inputs. all searches that i have tried so far are pretty much criptic. Thanks in advance for your help!

What kind of oxygen measurement?
Dissolved oxygen in water? ppm? ppb?
Excess oxygen in fossil fuel products of combustion?
Oxygen in the atmosphere of a carburizing furnace?
Oxygen in the surrounding environmental atmosphere, level of breathable oxygen?

Portable or permanent in-situ oxygen probes, combustion analyzers, are used by boiler and furnace services to monitor products of combustion, in which oxygen is typical in low fractional percentages, like 2.4%.

They generally use a Zirconium oxide sensors which needs to be hot (1200°F?) before it will operate and generate an oxygen signal.

Outputs are digital indication, voltage or current 4-20mA, sometimes digital, like Modbus.

Power is AC or DC or battery, depending on style.

If I remember correctly from my "Gear Head" days the O2 sensor on a Gas Engine produce a voltage when there is a lack of oxygen. Usually 5 VDC or less (just confirmed this with my Mechanic Friend). Danw is correct in that they do have to be hot before they send the signal.

So I guess you could bring in that signal with a 0-10v analog module. Given that you only have 1/2 the range available, some accuracy will be lost but it "should" work.