General impressions of idec

thinksabunch

I am new to PLCs, but just talked to a local IDEC representative who seemed knowledgeable and helpful. I'm trying to decide who to begin an association with and do not want to get too involved with a company which may not be able to meet my current or future needs. If there is anyone out there who can compare and contrast IDEC with other companies on cost, support, capabilities, etc. I would really appreciate hearing from you.

Thanks.
Barry

Try to go to their website. Then try to find their automation products, such as PLCs, HMIs, and the programming software.
I tried, and ended on this page
http://www.idec.com/home/products/automation.html
Full of texts and images, but not a single link to anything useful.

There are companies that have so much to show and tell that it becomes confusing. And there are companies that seems to have nothing to tell. Idec seems to fall in the latter category.

Apart from that, I saw a little bit of activity from Idec/Izumi some 15-20 years ago. Today they have all but disappeared, at least in my end of the world.

since you are new to plc's I suggest the following.

what does your plant use?
what other vendors are in the area.

we use ab here and at the other plants I worked at.
their pricey, but very reliable. we have 1 idec unit and left it sitting there in the panel, we know ab.

regards,
james

Try to go to their website. Then try to find their automation products, such as PLCs, HMIs, and the programming software.
I tried, and ended on this page
http://www.idec.com/home/products/automation.html
Full of texts and images, but not a single link to anything useful.

There are companies that have so much to show and tell that it becomes confusing. And there are companies that seems to have nothing to tell. Idec seems to fall in the latter category.