E-stop over Ethernet

rpoet

Hi All,
I thought I remember a manufacturer (or several) beginning to offer modules that allow you to send E-stop button status over a switched Ethernet network, alongside normal TCP traffic. My Google-foo is weak tonight, and I cannot for the life of me remember where I read about it.

I work in the entertainment industry, and I'm often in need of a remote e-stop or several; those positions and numbers change depending on the production. My facility is awash in CAT-5 wiring, and if I can use it, so much the better. It would make the bean counters happy too, as we'd need no infrastructure wiring changes.

What I'd love is to have a series of "remote" modules that look at an e-stop mushroom (or several), and send that status to a base unit. I'd configure that base unit to see the remotes I need, and it would provide a safety-rated relay output that interfaces with the normal e-stop system. It should also e-stop on disconnection of / damage to a cable. As a bonus, if the remote modules drew less than 30W at 24vdc, I could power them from Power-Over-Ethernet, making things a single-cable solution (external POE extractor is fine). Single cable solutions make our stagehands happy.

Key to this being successful is that the system has to be pretty flexible and easy to reconfigure. Each production has different needs, numbers of e-stops, and locations. We do rotating rep here, so the afternoon show isn't the same as the evening show, etc... Plug-and-play would be nice, and the ops shouldn't need a computer science degree to set up each show once it's configured and programmed.