Trying to connect to an AB Ultra3000i using Devicenet

mjggjm12

Hi, I am trying to connect to an AB 3000i servo drive through an SLC 5/04 using a 1784-U2DHP USB to DH+ converter. The servo drive is connected to a devicenet card. This is my first time using devicenet. The reason I am trying to connect to the drive is I have to replace it. I was told by one of our engineers that I can put the new drive in, connect to it with devicenet through the PLC and doenload the perameters into it from the machine files we have on our network. Long story short I am trying to connect to the existing drive so I know when I put the new drive in I will only have to have the machine down for a short time. Thank you. Sorry it is so long winded just wanted to give as much detail as I could.

Your first step is to configure the '1747-SDNPT' driver in RSLinx Classic. This will allow you to communicate from the DH+ connection, through the SLC-5/04 controller and the 1747-SDN DeviceNet Scanner, to the Ultra 3000i.

There are several minimum requirements for the firmware version of the 1747-SDN, the configuration of the 1747-SDN in RSLogix 500, and the operating system and version of RSLinx Classic software. Frankly, it's not easy if you're a beginner.

The Ultra 3000i can be configured entirely using RSNetworx for DeviceNet software, which has project files with a *.DNT extension. Are these what you have ?

It can also be configured using Ultraware software, using the serial port on the Ultra 3000i. Do you have that software ?

If we take a step back: Why do you have to replace this drive ? Is it still powered up and communicating on the network ?

If you're just replacing the drive and have little or no experience with DeviceNet, then using Ultraware to transfer the parameters would be much easier. Using passthrough on the SLC to establish a DeviceNet PC connection is slow and temperamental in my experience. A dedicated USB adapter like the 1784-U2DN makes a world of difference.