Remote Stations and Light Curtains

tripero01

Hey everyone!

Since last time everyone offered their help I am going to take advantage of your generosity again.

I am an intern on a manufacturing company. Ive been working on a machine addressing several performance and safety issues. Its composed of two remote IO stations and a local IO rack.

Lately one of the remote stations started blowing its fuse causing the parts of the machine that are connected to it to die pretty much. On this one in particular the input for the light curtain shuts down as well, thus unprotecting operators from getting in and suffer accidents since some rollers are connected to a different station and run independently.

I dont have much experience on this topic so now I have a couple of questions regarding this case:

1. was this the correct way to have my circuit wired up? (have the light curtain hooked up to a remote station that can blow up at any time)

2. should this safety inputs go to a separate station?

3. will it help moving this input from the remote station to the local rack?

4. is there any way to flag the program(like when someone breaks the light curtain) whenever a remote station shuts down?

This questions may seem nonsense for many of you but please understand my knowledge in this kind of issues is pretty basic.

Thanks again !

Ramiro

I am not certain
Are you saying that the light curtains are running through a PLC only.
and not through a safety relay or controller?

I guess I am not certain either about your question.

One end of the light curtain is connected to vcc, thus sending light all the time. The other end is connected to a remote input that goes to the ethernet card on the local rack through a cable. The plc program will then ask for the state of the input in order to pull up the warning message(of course when that station is killed, so is the input and so the chance of getting an error warning if you break into the machine)