Determining communication path between processors

kubiej21

Hey everyone,

I'm an electrical engineer in training (currently on co-op), and I have been assigned my first large project that deals heavily with discrete logic over Ethernet and data highway. I am attempting to update the current logic to allow for additional steps within various sequences, however, I am not entirely certain as to how data is currently being mapped between the processors.

The machine I am working on has two separate processors that interact with one another. The main processor for this line is an Allen Bradley L62, and the second is a SLC.

The L62 (let's call it Rack A) has three Ethernet cards within its rack. The SLC has a single Data Highway connection to a different Logix5000 rack (let's call the second Logix5000 chassis Rack B). Rack B has two Ethernet cards associated with it.

Since Rack A is sending data to the SLC, I am assuming that the data is being sent to Rack B via the Ethernet connection, and then to the SLC via Data Highway.

Looking at the logic in Rack A, I can see that the data is being sent via the following tags:
<CP3:O.Slot[4].Data.13>
<CP3:O.Slot[6].Data.4>
<CP3:O.Slot[6].Data.2>

From looking at these tags, how am I supposed to know that the data is being transferred to the SLC and how am I supposed to know which path that data is taking?

1 option: ControlLogix sending data to the SLC - Look for a message (MSG) instruction.
2 option: SLC reading data from the ControlLogix. This would require a MSG Map - in the RSLogix 5000 with the program open, go to the Logic tab, then there is an entry "MAP PLC/SLC Messages". If there is a table there, then the SLC could have MSG's to read from the ControlLogix.

[1]Since Rack A is sending data to the SLC, [2]I am assuming that the data is being sent to Rack B via the Ethernet connection, and then to the SLC via Data Highway.