RS5000 process control...fail

Jet A

Hello everybody,

New guy here. I have been a long time reader but finally found the end of the internet looking for the anwser to my question.

My current system is a dry product pneumatic conveyance system (4") that uses a rotary airlock to feed the product in closed loop system (product can return to feed tank).

The problem: System is not smart. It just turns the Rotary airlock (vfd) on full speed and when pressure spikes (15psi) it stops feeding. Waits for the pressure to fall (10psi) then hammers at it again. the result is a system that is probably not delivery at maximum eff.

Current hardware: CLX-L62. Pressure sensor. VFD on airlock. Feed tank weight, delivery tank weight.

I would like to figure out a way to use some sort of "smart" method to control this where I can feed the product at some speed (or maybe vary it slighty based on pressure) to maintain a somewhat level pressure below the set amount.

I am new to 5000, plcs and process control. I have a good handle on how to make program changes within the safety aspects of the system. What I dont have is the ablity to use the process features of function blocks. (I understand fucntion blocks). Example, PIDE, POSP, SRTP and so on.

I have probably not given enough information but apprecaite any help yall are able to offer.

If you have an extra analog output on your CLX-62, and an unused analog input in the VFD, then you can use the CLX analog out to send a speed setpoint to the VFD Rotary Airlock. Then it will run at whatever speed you choose.

For your 2nd trick, you can send the pressure to a PID instruction, scaled to be the speed setpoint, and use the PID output to control the analog output to the VFD.

Last edited:
The first thing I would do is create and run a trend of the pressure and the on/off state of the VFD. See how the pressure builds up, and you might get an idea of how slowing down the VFD can keep the pressure from reaching a "spike".