4-20mA > HART

MrQ

Hello,

I have a module that gives a 4-20mA signal without HART interface. The customer uses HART and wants to be able to get both the 4-20mA signal and the value via HART to their DCS.

Any ideas for black boxes. I have found repeaters but the way I understand they need a HART interface in the transmitter side also.

for you to send the module information to your customer, your module must have a Hart interface.

Nonuke is correct. Hart performance is built into the transmitter. If the transmitter does not have HART, it never will, with the sole exception of Honeywell's ST700/800 pressure transmitters with swappable comm modules.

I'm no expert, but every HART interface I have seen includes a 4-20 mA loop input. The 4-20 mA loop is the circuit on which the HART protocol is superimposed; you simply can't have HART without having a 4-20 mA loop.

I think that MrQ is looking for some kind of 're-transmitter' that will take in 4-20 mA on one side, then re-transmit the 4-20 mA as well as a HART signal containing the 4-20 mA value as the Primary Variable.

That sort of device might exist, but I can't see a reason for one; if the analog signal is the only input, then the HART data can only serve to duplicate or confirm the existing signal.

I suppose in somebody's mind this might be a way to improve 'signal confidence' by sending the same data both as analog and digital.

I'm very skeptical that you're find what you're looking for.

Only a tiny fraction of the AI's are capable of stripping off the HART data, mostly DSC's, a few high end PLC's or PAC's, so the HART market for analog is a fraction of the HART market for configuration.

The market for a device that has already suffered a D/A-A/D conversion which then takes the analog value (with that error) and converts it to HART and retransmits it, is your client, and your client alone, as far as I know.

The market for HART is
- configuration via HART