Controller/program scoped tags and network

Joho

Hi,
I'm pretty new at this but completed my first control job here recently and everything worked fine. I was programming for a CompactLogix PLC and I used RSLogix5000 to do the logic. Most of my code used program-scoped tags but I used a few controller-scoped tags so that a couple tasks could share them.

The automation guy at the plant said he wanted to do the HMI and tie in the new PLC to their network. So, of course I let him. Now he says he cannot access the program-scoped tags over the network and wants me to change them all to controller-scoped.

He is using an ethernet connection to the PLC. Is this correct that he will not be able to access these program-scoped tags via their network? Can anyone explain why? Or if it's not true, what needs to be done to access them?

Thanks
John

Hello,

In PeakHMI to access program scoped tags the program name is prefixed to the tagname and a colon separates the two.

<program name>:<tag name>

Motor_1:Running

Controller scoped tags is only the tagname.

RSView32 generally uses RSLinx Classic as an OPC server to communicate with ControlLogix, so usually looking at the Tag Browser window.

An excerpt from RA Knowledgebase Answer ID # 52808:

Program scoped tags can be browsed, but they don't show up by tag name in the normal left hand pane of the tag browser. What you will see instead on the left side is a folder labeled "Program:<program name>".

If you highlight this folder, the tags defined in that Program tag database will then be available in the right hand pane. In the case of UDTs and array tags, there will be a sub-folder beneath the Program name as well.

Since the tags are listed alphabetically, these "Program:<program name>" listings will be mixed in with the Controller scoped tags that begin with "P" on the left hand side and can be very easy to overlook if you aren't expecting to find them there.