wrap counter

meandthesnow

Hi folks, this is my first time posting. I am a part time programmer and I am having issues with a wrap counter on a wire draw machine. Without getting into too many details, here is a description of what I want to do. My application has two proxys. If the following conditions are met, I want to increment a counter:
1st proxy comes on
Then second proxy comes on (first proxy is still on)
then first proxy shuts of (second proxy still on)
then second proxy shuts off
increment count
I also need to decrement the counter when the conditions are reversed.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Just as a side note, my version of RSLOGIX 5000 only has ladder logic capabilities.

welcome to the forum.

you have done a great job with your description.

may i suggest either using an integer register and step through your logic or latch in a series of bits.

step 0 - bit 0 - enable logic
step 10 - bit 1 - prox 1 made
step 20 - bit 2 - prox 1,2 made
step 30 - bit 3 - prox 2 on, 1 off
increment counter or latch a bit
keep going in reverse order.

there are many ways to do this as you will learn.

hope this helps.
james

What you describe is the function of a common dual channel incremental encoder that operates by frequency phase discrimination. You don't need to write any code for this. All serios PLC makes have counter/position modules that handle this. Like Allen Bradley ControlLogix 1756-HSC (High Speed Counter).
Some PLCs like the Simatic S7-1200 has even integrated High Speed Counters where you can configure a pair of inputs to be High Speed dual channel incremental.

The phase relationship between two signals you describe is called 'quadrature'. Google it (and 'incremental encoder') for a lot of additional information.