PLC Student

Billhc83

Hello,

I am new to the forum and new to PLC's, and I have recently began a course on PLC's. I have no real world experience with PLC's and do not have access to any at work atm. I am looking to put together something at home which will help me understand the functions and uses of PLC's. I am looking for something that will not break the bank but will be able to demonstrate the operation of a PLC. I have looked at the training devices available online but would rather build something of my own. I am wondering what the best/most affordable PLC would be to buy. I have been looking at a micrologix 1000 controller, but am not sure whether this is the best option or not.

Any input would be appreciated.
Thanks,

Welcome to thesite
the PLC simulator on this site will probably suit you.
Buying a PLC is OK but a lot om money if you have no other use for it

Once you settle on a brand, perhaps the type they have at work, buy all the parts on EBay.

I started at home with borrowed stuff from work.

Good luck it's a lot of fun.

I know most of the PLC's used at work are A-B, but is is a mixed bag of stuff there. I'm just looking for something for some hands on type experience

Thanks for all the advice. I have purchased a Micrologix 1761-L32BWA controller from ebay to build a small trainer. I wanted to power it up to make sure it works before I get too far along but I can't seem to get it to work. Could someone please advise me on this, to my understanding the only wires needed to get power light to come on are the 3 AC wires (hot, neutral, and ground). Am I right in thinking this?

Thanks
Bill

then the ML1000 internal Power Supply is toast...🔨
Yes indeed, they are not all alike. Any Micrologix 1000 with a "B" in the last position of the model number(1761-LxxxxB) needs a 24 volt DC power supply.

Lesson Learned: Don't assume that you know the supply voltage without checking the User Manual for the specific model.

Last edited: