Citect SCADA Report from CSV data based on User Date selection.

TuckerJ

Hi Everyone,

I am hoping we have some Citect SCADA Experts here. I am new to Citect and not finding it the most user friendly SCADA Package to use.

I Currently have some total flow values being logged into a CSV file at midnight each night. The CSV Format is Column A = Date, B= Time, C= Flow1, D=Flow2, D=Flow3, D=Flow4. This was done by creating a Device (ASCII_DEV)that Reads the associated tags and writes them to a CSV by way of a an Event trigger.(this was the easy part)

The Client wants to be able show Monthly or Annual Flow totals.

How can i create a user interface that can search the CSV file and pull back the data required and sum the selected data.

For instance the User inputs January 2012 Monthly report. How can i get Citect to search the CSV for All January 2012 daily flows and report them back in a viewable format on the SCADA.

If anybody has any ideas of where i would start on this i would be very grateful.

Yours Hopingly!!

Tucker

I think you are making it hard for yourself. I would have used the SQL database device and logged the data to a database then all you need to do is a simple query to get whatever you need.
You can use any SQL backend, I would personally use MySQL (can't beat the price Free, and considerably smaller install than MSSQL)

Geoff,

Thank you for your response and advice. Like i mentioned i am new to Citect and i am having to learn it myself as the company wont provide me with any training and i am finding Schneider Technical support very unhelpful. All they are good at doing is pointing you to their example project and knowledgebase. I will admit i have not really used SQL but i guess now is the time to learn as alot of SCADA packages are now using SQL as part of their system.

Hi,

I did (sometime ago) something similar to what you are trying to do.