PLC timers

What PLC are you using? I would start a retentive timer when the first pushbutton is pressed and stop it when the second on was pressed

I have never programmed a PLC before. I wanted to make sure it was capable before buying. I think the Allen-Bradley Micro 830 is the one for the job. How accurately can a retentive timer time the difference between the two?

It depends what you consider "accurate". Basically, you have to consider scan time. If the ladder that include the "start timer" instruction is near the top of the scan and the button is pressed while the bottom of the program is scanned, the program will not detect the input until the next time the inputs are scanned. This may be only a millisecond or two later - it depends on your PLC type, the number & type of instructions in the program, etc. Same thing for detecting the second pushbutton.

Without familiarity with the 830 PLC, I can only assume that their timers are as good as the micrologix, which are generally sufficienct for most tasks.

If the 830 has a "FAST" input function, you can try using it. Some of the Micrologix do. Scan time will be a thing of the past.

The site says it has a 100 kHz speed HSC available for a 24V DC input. I just need it to scan the inputs every mS or so. Is there a way to store these times then communicate them with another device every 20s?

It would be easy to read the values with an HMI every 20 seconds. You could also set up a spreadsheet or database that's updated with values from the PLC every 20 seconds.

The high-speed counter is a special hardware circuit embedded in the controller that performs features like encoder pulse counting or frequency measurement. You wouldn't use it to measure the time between two ordinary inputs.

What exactly are the physical inputs to the controller, and what is the time resolution you are looking for ?

Are you a student at Texas A&M (I noticed you're in College Station) or is this a commercial application ?

rguimond: