Debugging without breakpoints - "tricks of the trade" ?

Since I'm fairly new to the automation industry world and PLC programming, and I come from PC software development with some microcontroller experience, now working with PLCs which do not support breakpoint based debugging is giving me a hard time when it comes to finding errors.
I am "spoiled" by having debuggers available, so to say ;-)

Specifically I am using S7-1200 series PLCs and TIA portal V11, and do everything in SCL,
but I guess there are more general tips that you could give me:

What would you folks give as advice to someone coming from regular computer to PLC programming?
In terms of how to go about finding programming errors.
And also, how to construct programs in a way that does not make it unnecessarily hard to track program defects?
I'd guess that you can make it easier or harder depending on how programs are structured, and I lack the experience to do it the best way.

Thanks in advance

I haven't worked with S7, but it probably supports subroutines. You may be able to use conditional branches to help debugging.