Ethernet on safety PLC

Wilso

Firstly, let me apologise if my terminology is a bit raw. I'm not an engineer. Just a garden variety industrial sparky trying to get the best out of the small plant I'm responsible for maintaining. We're part of a much larger organisation, but I don't get much engineering support.

I've got data acquisition software which has been invaluable in fault finding on the other PLC's we've got connected to the server. But it requires ethernet. (don't suggest routing).

We've got 6 PLC's. One was already connected when I got here. 2 others were already connected to the network switch and had IP dedicated to their MAC addresses. I was able to get our engineering group to make the connection to the data acquisition server.

Another two I was able to get set up when we had a contract engineer on loan for free (long story). Brilliant Russian guy with not much English. Unbeknownst to me these two S7-300 units had Ethernet (Profinet???) ports available. There were some ethernet cables that had been installed for another purpose but not used, and it was a simple matter to plug them in, get the IT dept, to give me some IP addresses, and my Russian friend connected them.

Then there's the safety PLC. No ethernet port or card of any type available, and no space on the rack. The two possibilities I'm looking for advice on -

1)is moving the power supply elsewhere in the panel, to give me the room to install the ethernet card.

2) Is there a CPU equivalent of the current unit that will have a port built in (317-6F03-0AB0). And yes, we use both the MPI/DP ports on the current card.

Yes
There is a 317F 6ES7 317-2FK14-0AB0 with profinet but only 1 mpi/dp port

The 319F has 3 ports PN/MPI and DP
6ES7 318-3FL01-0AB0
But its a little wider width

Last edited: