Click PLC communications

jeffreystacks

My apologies if this is answered somewhere else, but I'm not getting any results with my search keywords. I am an experienced software developer, but I'm new to PLCs. It's possible that I don't yet have the relevant vocabulary to search effectively.

I work for a manufacturer who would like to get real time data about the quantity of product coming off the mills. There is an existing installation in one of our plants that uses proximity sensors fed into a Durant(Eaton) Ambassador 57601-400 counter, and there is a Java app that periodically queries it for information to put into a database.

The counters are older technology (and unitasking at that), and they are priced like they don't want to sell them anymore.

What I'd like to do is use a Click PLC instead of the counter. Unfortunately, I haven't seen anything that specifically says it can communicate with the Java app in a similar manner to the counter. I'm pretty certain that the data is retrievable in some manner because we set one up with a pushbutton and an app to count the button presses, and I can see the data increment onscreen during testing.

I'd like to know if what I am trying to do is even possible, and if anyone out there has tried this before. Any known-good links would be appreciated as well.

Thanks in advance...

It is possible, we have had a few customers that have managed it.

The Click PLC uses MODBUS RTU for communications. You can find all of the relevant standards at the MODBUS Organization website. MODBUS is a very well supported protocol and there are tons of third party communication applications that might interface to your system.

Modbus in the Click is pretty easy to set up, keep in mind that it only supports Modbus RTU (not Modbus ASCII).

Which would be great if this thing spoke Modbus. It doesn't.

Go to: http://downloads.eatoncanada.ca/dow...601400, 57602400 and 5760X450 User Manual.pdf