New to PLC's-Drastically need help!!

Good Day Everyone,
I'm currently building a quality control device and I need help with choosing the correct PLC. Briefly this is what I'm trying to accomplish. I'm cutting 1.000" x 1.000" strips of metal out on a CNC machine and sometimes they get bowed. The bow tolerance is .040" so the total tolerance is 1.040". The pieces will be placed on a solid platform (not a coverer) that passes through a laser. When the pieces are out of tolerance a door opens and the rejected pieces drop into a bin.
I will be using a through beam laser emitter,and a through beam laser receiver. The pneumatic solenoid will activate one cylinder. I also have a 24vdc power supply.

I'm in need of help wiring everything up to the PLC. I have no experience but I figured this cant be that hard since I'm only trying to activate one solenoid. I need the PLC to hold the current on the solenoid for about 3 seconds, so the cylinder can open up and close. I'm using automationdirect.com for parts. If anyone out there can point me in the direction of what PLC I should buy that would be great.
Thanks,
Brian

I guess that (given the information you've posted) this will have to depend on your programming experience.

If your background is more on the electrical side then any PLC will work, depending on the precisión needed in terms of scan cycle you'll be able even to use a programable realy like a zelio or a logo, but if that is not enough then any normal PLC will be OK.

If your background is more from the programming world, then a Beckhoff or a B&R system will fit your needs better.

Good luck!

1. I also have a 24vdc power supply.
2. I need the PLC to hold the current on the solenoid for about 3 seconds, so the cylinder can open up and close.
3. I'm using AutomationDirect.com for parts.