Lenze L Force MD/MH motors...inverter connection question

MichiganDuck

Getting back into the controls field after a long hiatus going to school. Due to unforeseen circumstances I have been suddenly placed into commissioning a machine someone else designed, which I have no experience with.

Basically I am connecting several Lenze L Force MD/MH motor to PF755 drives using CIP motion. The drives are powered by 460VAC/60Hz. I wasn't previously familiar with the 87hz technique but quickly am. My question is: these AC motors have on the data plate specifications for 400wye/230delta, at 50hz, 460wye/265delta at 60Hz and 87Hz at 400V as well as being specified as an "inverter duty motor". According to the data sheet:

"MD/MH three-phase AC motors are designed for operation
on a fixed mains and for inverter operation.
For operation at 50 Hz, the motors should be operated in a
Δconnection at 230 V or in a star connection at 400 V.
For inverter operation, the base frequency has been set at
87 Hz at a rated voltage of 400 V in a Δconnection."

According to the supplier I should still be setting the motor windings to a Wye configuration despite using the PowerFlex drive. He states that the 87Hz is only needed for constant torque applications, whereas the hoisting application we are using it for doesn't. Other engineers in my office have verified his statement. Is the inverter connection mentioned in the Lenze data sheet only for an inverter connected to a 230-50/265-60 volt mains?

First, every hoisting application I've seen is or should be a constant torque device. That means that you will need a constant V/Hz ratio regardless of which way the motor is connected.

If your power train is already specified, then you have determined what the maximum speed must be for the motor. That will fix the maximum frequency that you can use.