one shot generation in controllogix 1756-L61

olealf

Hi

I am new in ControlLogix, so I don't know the details of the scan cycle, I have been checking a couple of programs and I have found the following one shot generation logic (see the attached file)

I:060 is a sensor that goes low when a carton is detected.
From the comments of the logic I know that a one shot is generated, but not sure how is working under the scan rules for contrologix

Can someone explain the details ?

Thanks

one shot logic.jpg

Last edited:
Welcome to the Forum !

Can you take a screen shot ? Text-based ladder is notorious for being hard to format on the Forum.

ControlLogix is very similar to SLC or PLC-5; it solves left-to-right and top-to-bottom.

On the routine scan when the Carton Detected sensor bit is first False, the top level of the rung is evaluated. Because B3[16].2 Shot Complete is not yet true, the B3[16].1 Start-Shot bit is set true.

On the same scan, the second level of the rung is evaluated. It sets the B3[16].2 Shot Complete bit true.

On the next scan, the Carton Detected sensor bit is still False, but now the B3[16].2 Shot Complete bit is true. That makes the Start-Shot bit false for this scan, and all subsequent scans until the Carton Detected sensor goes true then false again.

This is one way to do a One-Shot, but I prefer to use the built-in ONS instruction in the ControlLogix. It uses a single BOOL to store the state of the function, but it's obvious what it's doing when you see it onscreen.

Three_Oneshots.png

A plug for FastStone Capture, my favorite screen-capture utility. I realize there are others, and SnagIt is a favorite, but this is the one I like best.

http://www.faststone.org/FSCaptureDetail.htm

I wholeheartedly second that plug - I've been using it for many years...

Earlier versions were "shareware", and the later versions need a purchase, but if you can get to try it out, it is well-worth the small cost.