New to plc advice please

Hobbit

I have no experience with plc's as of yet but I want to get started with an on going home project implementing various functions and complexities over time.

The project
I have electrically operated windows with individual wall mounted rocker switches, I want to replace these switches eventually with a central control hmi touch screen where I can control individual windows and multiples eg open/close all.

The electronics for the windows is built in to the frames, they take a non latching input from the switch, up for open down for close.
I intend to take the output from the existing switches to inputs on a plc and then send the command to the window via volt free contacts from the plc.

I want the controls for the windows to be separate from an hmi with an interface that will allow different systems to communicate with the window control functions via programming. Im thinking rs232 rs485 but am unsure.

To add some more interest I intend to have one controller for upstairs windows and one for downstairs windows linked via a communications interface.

These are goals that I am looking to implement in the future one step at a time so choosing the right plc first is paramount to keep costs down etc.

So first things first I need help to decide on a modular plc that will allow me to expand capacity over time.

I have around £200 to spend on a plc can you please advise discuss on recommendations and or highlight any issues that may arise from my brief project description.

Thanks