A PLC network dilema

PLC 'Wizard'

Long time viewer, first time poster here.

A little background to me. I'm an Electrical Engineering Technology student that is near my B.S. In all honesty I've only had 1 course regarding PLCs, and only covered AB.

I recently got hired on to a paperboard company as an intern, but am deemed a PLC expert here. I really have no resources to turn to when I have questions regarding this nature(minus this forum which is a HUGE help).

The question as I see it. We currently have 12 PLCs that are all AB (SLC 5/02, Mirco, Compact, and Control) in the mill. Four of the PLCs(Micro, Compact, and Control) are requested to pass data back and forth to a DCS system through Delta V. The system is currently set up for the 5000 family of processors and 1 PLC is passing data to it. The method of data gathering is VERY limited(physical connections, data tags, 500 vs 5000....) and the cost of scaling it sounds very steep.
Alongside this network, upper-management want all new PLCs the ability to provide their OEM's with remote access(currently 3).

Now I've been able to gather that I could get 1 PLC that could gather up all the information requested by the DCS system and send it, while also taking information from the DCS and writing it to the respective PLCs.

I'm wondering is there an easy way to provide what I'm asking for that I might have missed.

I'm getting direction from our distributor to use a CompactLogix as this 'server' with a 9300-ENA to translate over to the DCS domain(physically separate network). I've seen on this forum people say for this purpose, the ControlLogix is a better choice.