help please

stephen

any help with this guys?
i'm new to plc so i was wondering what types of protocol are used for communicatin between plc's.
thanks alot guys
steve

It depends on the brand of PLC.
Each one is different.

some examples I have seen:
Modbus, modbus plus, ethernet, MPI, RS232, RS485, profibus and standard, bitwise, PLC i/os.

Each PLC usually has between 5 to 10 different protocols available.

Doug

ur destination is so vast of protocol

:D there r several plc protocle
RS-232
RS-422
RS-485
TCP/ip
DH+
DH485
Modbus+
DNP-3
SNP
DP
MPI
P2P
it all depends on ur application and mack of PLC
may b i m wrong
i m using siemens and GE fanuc including AB
u may find all info with in this site or u may fond concern MAnufecturee SItes
ok
TC
Muhammad Faisal Qureshi

There are many protocols, and equally many misunderstandings of what is and what isn't a 'protocol'.

Things like RS232, RS422, RS485 are most definitely NOT protocols. These are all electrical standards defining signals levels etc. The fact that 2 PLCs both have an RS232 port doesn't mean they can necessarily communicate.

Likewise some protocols like Modbus were originally defined as purely that : protocols. The message structure and permissible content was described. No mention was made of the medium to be used for transmitting these messages. So here you could have two PLCs which each understood Modbus messaging, but one only had a RS232 interface, and the other only had RS485. Still no communication.