Brand new to SLC 5000 with project

JPCCDD

Hi all, I'm an industrial electrician with a problem. I have been using SLC500 for years with basic functions, and have just started a new job where the only PLC's are 5000's. To top it off, they use devicenet, which I have never used before. I am eager to learn about this, but have a project they would like to do and I need your guys help to walk me through the process. They have a Panelview 1000 connected to a 5500 processor through devicenet. They use this tell the PLC what product to run by inputing the data manually. They would like to add a scanner to input all the data automatically. Please let me know where to start and what I should start reading up on to figure out how to do this. I will warn you guys, I am a beginner with PLC's. I know this is way above me right now, but with your help, I'm hoping you guys can bring me up to speed. This will be a long thread, and I'm sure I will be asking for a lot of examples to help me wrap my head around some of the things you guys say. Thank you all, and I look forward to hearing from you.

What do you mean by scanner? Like a barcode scanner?

Basically, the existing panelview they have now will be directly writing to tags in the PLC. For example, if they are currently getting a user to store a number the panelview will be writing directly to that number in the PLC. All you would do here is find out what that tag is and write to it with the new device in the same way.

But how you connect the scanner is another thing. I can't really help you in configuring it.

Rockwell have heaps of good manuals, so I would start with their DeviceNet one to learn a bit more about it. What I would do after that is look at their existing system and see how they have set that up and probably do something very similar for the scanner.