How SSR can be driven by analog?

sinbernal

Hello There, I am new with control system and electronic devices. My application require to control an electric heater bank with a temperature controller. All the electric heater banks shall be modulated via new solid state relays in response to a 0 - 10 VDC analog control signal from the PLC. I read previous post related to SSRs but they refere to digital control which is not my case. I would like to know how can this be achived /posible and what type of solid state relay shall ve selected (additional to the type suitable to handle the load of the heater banks). Kind Regards,

"heater banks shall be modulated via new solid state relays in response to a 0 - 10 VDC analog control signal from the PLC".

Is the 0-10VDC signal INPUT TO the PLC or OUTPUT FROM the PLC? Typically the number of times the SSR turns on
and the length of time the SSR stays on is varied by the temp. controller (ON/OFF PID control) to maintain setpoint,
not the input voltage to a fixed input voltage SSR.

If your using a temperature controller, it has a adjustable setpoint, so, what is the 0-10VDC signal used for?
If the 0-10VDC is input to the PLC, from where does the 0-10VDC signal originate? If the 0-10VDC signal is output
from the PLC, what is it used for? It would not be used to vary load current to electric heating elements.

I've seen murcury contactors in use for electric heating elements for over 25 years, and never had to change one.

There's a whole category of final control elements called SCR's or thyristors, after the electrical component switching mechanism used. Their intended use is driving heater elements.

These devices have an analog input, typically 4-20mA or 0-10V, which represents the percentage on-time.