Hello, new here nice forum. need experienced help

I have a Micrologix 1000 running AC Power. I have a trainer from plc-trainer.net. It is all DC and wired for a Micrologix 1500. I have a DC SUpply for the components, and i can successfully power up my Micro 1000. I was using the Micro 1500. But ran into the issue of having to purchase Rslogix. I was advised to instead save money and purcahse a micro 1000 to use with rslogix free version. I am a beginner. very interested in programming and automation. to get started i really need help getting the MIcrologic 1000 AC to work with my DC components. anyone have any ideas? the trainer includes 4 lights, 4 switches, 1 power switch all pre wired for DC with DC common. I really do not want to hook anything up without proper instruction or guidance. I appreciate any help i can get. and i do apologize for the newbie questions. But im just a nerdy guy desperate to learn how PLC's interact with real world objects and get started on programming. That i'm sure i will excel at. Thank you and be gentle lol haha.

Can you provide the forum with the complete catalog number of your ML1000.

catalognumber.PNG

Last edited:
For inputs to your ML1000 you could use interposing relays controlled by 24VDC and then power the dry contacts of the relays with AC to connect to the PLC's AC inputs.

For outputs just use the ML1000 relays which can control both AC and or DC.

so i have absolutely no ability to use DC components with this unit? Even if powered seperately? IS ther any case i can use DC components at all with an AC unit and if so how could i do that in very simple example? I just need to know if i need to buy new components?

See my post (#5) above. You will have to buy some small relays though.

Because your Micrologix1100 has relay outputs, the voltage on the outputs does not matter. I would tie 24VDC+ to the "VACDC" labeled commons on the BOTTOM of your PLC and then use "OUT 0", "OUT 1", "OUT 2", "OUT 3" to your lights.