Basic I/O list for pump control.

Mishtavince

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post and this website has helped me a lot since i started work, the advice found here is just priceless.

Now I need help, Could any one kindly tell me the basic I/O list used to control a pump from your experience.

I'm a new recruit at this company and have been told to work on a project which is to write a PLC program to control 6 pumps for an underground water storage level control. The contracting company has not given us an I/O list. I'm a recent joinee and im still learning PLC , from my point of view ive come up with the following:

DI
1) Pump on 2) Pump off 3) Emergency Stop 4) Phase Loss 5) Voltage Trip
6) Level Switch 7)Auto 8) manual 9)open valve 10) close valve

But im lost..

I would greatly appreciate it if some one could guide me in the right way for selecting the basic I/O for a pump control. i.e Digital input/output and Analog input/output.

This information will help me a long way.
thank you.

keep it simple for the first time:
switch input pump output
do this for 6 pumps
pay attention to not start within 30 seconds the next pump
ask your tutor about it. or check a drawing

Thank you,

The Previous engineer working on this project (who quit) had set the following inputs :

DI DO AI AO
Actual I/O 173 42 12 3

that would make it roughly abt 28 DI, 7 DO, 2AI per pump.

out of the 6 submersible pumps 1 is used as backup.

pumps used are AMACAN P - 1000lts/hr X 4
Amarex KRT - 100 lts/hr X 2

its for a storm water drain project. Basic idea is where the storm water gets collected in a tank then reused for irrigation.

Proposed PLC- GE RX 3I.

its for a storm water drain project. Basic idea is where the storm water gets collected in a tank then reused for irrigation.
Then it seems the stormwater will run into the underground storage tank by gravity-feed, then the 6 pumps will pump the water out as irrigation is needed.