SLC 5/03 connectivity issues

snowfreak14

Hi everyone,

I am new to both this forum and to working with AB and Rockwell devices. My current problem is I am trying to connect my PC to the SLC 5/03 but cannot establish a connection. I am under the impression that with the SLC being set to DH485, I will not be able to connect using my 9pin serial to USB cable because of the 11 bit system. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.🤞🏻

Welcome to the Forum !

The SLC-5/03 has both a DH485 network port (top, 8-pin modular plug) and a multi-purpose RS-232 port (bottom, DB9 male plug).

The RS-232 port, named Channel 0, is usually set for DF1 Full Duplex protocol. This will work fine through most USB/RS232 converters.

You are correct that general-purpose USB/RS-232 converters will not work with the old "1747-PIC/AIC+" driver. There are special USB/DH485 interfaces available from A-B and from Industrial Concepts, both under the part number "1747-UIC".

A very simple diagnostic is to look at the Ch0 LED on the controller when there is no cable connected to it. If it's blinking at about 1 Hz, the port is configured for DH485 protocol. If it's OFF, the port is probably configured for DF1 Full Duplex, but might be configured for something else (Modbus, ASCII, disabled, etc).

This afternoon I was faced with an SLC-5/03 that had both ports configured for DH485, and I had no 1747-UIC with me. Fortune favors the bold, and I had a backup copy of the program, so I shut off power, pulled the SLC, disconnected the battery, and shorted out VBB and GND on the motherboard for a minute to clear the memory. When I repowered it, the user program was gone and the RS-232 port was back in DF1 Full Duplex mode.