Protool/pro

GEOFRA

I am considering a SCADA system for a small project.The project is build using S7-200 PLCs.
As I have no experience with SCADA systems I wonder if anyone can help to clarify a few things.What are the main differences between Protool/Pro and WinCC?Are these differences important if the project si not very big? Can I use Protool/Pro if the project is not very demanding in tags?Does it support animation and graphigs?
Is there a site from which I can download a demo.I have tried from Siemens site but whenI click on Demo I get a message that the URL is not found.
Any info will be appreciated.

I have a WinCC demo and information about it but it is 2 cd.Demo program run 15 minutes and then stop communication but the time is enough.How a can send it to you.And I have a problem too about my thesis I have to learn how I description plc adress in visualbasic.for example ý want to send 00001001 to SMB30 with vbasic.can you help me?

GEOFRA, for a small project, Protool Pro is pefectly OK.
There is a limitation that only one S7-200 is allowed when using the internal PPI driver in Protool(*). If you have more S7-200's then you must go via MPI or DP.

Animation is quite possible, but its not so easy to create nice-looking graphics in Protool as it could be.

Protool's main weakness as compared to WINCC is that datalogging is quite primitive.

Notice that a much-improved version of Protool (renamed WINCC Flexible) is to be released in june.

*: One should think that several PPI connections over individual COM ports should be possible, but it isn't.

PROTOOL/PRO

Thank you both for your reply.
Emin22 unfortunately I cannot help you with visual basic.
JesperMP when you say "There is a limitation that only one S7-200 is allowed when using the internal PPI driver in Protool(*). If you have more S7-200's then you must go via MPI or DP" I guess you mean that if I have a profibus network then there would not be a problem?