Basic programming help

DarthRaver

Im going to start off this thread with the old cliche im new to this (which i am) so please excuse my feeble knowledge and thanks in advance.

So i've got a simple carriage control which drives right then reaches the right limit and then returns left until left limit is reached.
I should stress that the ladder begins with a start contact through to an Rs funtion block which is resetting right limit, continuing then resetting at the left limit at the second function block.

My problem is that once the carriage has travelled right and reached its limit it then proceeds to move left towards the left limit BUT if you are to press start it will stop the carriage. i can see the problem as it is trying to run right and left and the same time? but how can i correct this?

Thanks & sorry for how much of a novice i am!

sadly, its not on the machine i am currently on. But i don't think i've explained it brilliantly either! its doing everything it should be apart from when pressing start whilst it is moving left it will halt the carriage. I can see this is because it is trying to operate right and left and the same time, im not sure but i think i need something to keep it false during its left transit. Maybe a timer?
GX Developer
Thanks Mark!

DarthRaver,

try this.
forget the machine and what its doing.
write down on paper what you want the machine to do.
expand on it by then adding sensors and outputs.

then look at the code to see how close you are.

sounds like the code is using the start pb to also stop the machine in case something goes wrong.

regards,
james

But i don't think i've explained it brilliantly either! Its doing everything it should be-- apart from when pressing start whilst it is moving left it will halt the carriage.