Intergral Value in P&I Loop

sparkytex

Lifetime Supporting Member
I was just recently asked to figure out why the level control in one of our Evaporators was so erratic. I Trended the P&I Loop via PARC View for 24 hours to see what was going on. The set point is for 60 percent level and the Process variable seems to bounce up to 70% then to 60% then down to 50% then back to 60% and follows the same pattern. Over a period of time this oscillation seems to be quite equal in time or "constant oscillations". Each oscillation from peak (70%) to peak is about 2 minutes and 45 seconds on average. Right now the Proportional gain is set to .3 and the integral value or "reset time" TI is set to 10s. Would I not want to increase the integral time say to 20 seconds to slow the controller down to eliminate the oscillations? I'm new to PID tuning but I've also read a lot about it, but not coming from a mathematical background I get easily confused with the formula's involved. Please give some insight to my issue!!

Thanks, TEX

The value of your integral term can have different meanings depending on how you have your PID equation set independent or dependent.

Dependent = Minutes per repeat

Independent = repeats per sec.

Post your program if you are not sure. Tell us which PID is in question.

what happen on 3 or 6 months ago? history.

you need to trace the history,maintenance record?

are this happen only when running certain product?

if you change PID today ,next 3 month you change again,next 6 month change again?

during earlier start up the system them setting with best PID.

where the instrument PID record?

Right now the Proportional gain is set to .3 and the integral value or "reset time" TI is set to 10s.
0.3 doesn't mean anything. What are the units? 0.3% per inch? 0.3volts per centimeter.