Ethernet Communications

eyespyral

I am trying to implement a data acquisition system for a box factory. The primary purpose of this system is to monitor up/down time, and throughput. I am using Micrologix 1000 PLCs with 1761-NET-ENI for ethernet connection. The working idea is to have a central computer query each PLC. At each station, we plan to have a local computer with a Visual C++ application working in conjunction with RSLinx. This application will allow the user to view the acquired data and enable them to enter reasons for down-time. Thus, we need to have communication from PLC to local station computer, PLC to central computer, and local computer to central computer; all via the 1761-NET-ENI. From the central computer, the acquired data will be dumped to a database. Since I am new to PLCs, this is quite a daunting task. Can anyone offer any advice on how to do this? Will there be any problems with ethernet traffic? Can a Visual C++ application be linked with the RSLinx software? I'm open to any suggestions. Thanx.

The NET-ENI works great for put a processor serial port on Ethernet. I have only used it with Allen-Bradley processors. The are some limitations with how much the NET-ENI will communicate with. These limitations are called connections.

Go to the AB Knowledgebase at
http://domino.automation.rockwell.com/applications/kb/RAKB.nsf/$$Search/?OpenForm

Type “NET-ENI” in to Keyword field and search the page for (Ctrl+F) “connections”

You may also need to scale up your version of RSLinx to work with your C++ program. I had to do that to get Linx to communicate with Excel.

I'm a big fan of the "why-build-it-if-you-can-buy-it" school.

I would look into using a small SCADA package to do the operator interface and at least some of the up/down time accumulation. Products like CiTect and Cimplicity can do the accumulation for you. Calculating the actual up-time is often done in PLC code because it's more imune from than the monitoring application.