Allen Bradley

haggis

Hi there,
Im fairly new to Plc,s and have been trying to understand the extensive range of Allen Bradley PLCs with the intention of buying a second hand one to program. I have decided to go with an SLC500 with a 5/02 CPU to begin with so i can build it up as i learn.
QUESTION-Am i correct in thinking that i will need a 5/03 CPU or above if i want to create a PLC network in the future.
QUESTION-Where can i learn in simple terms about the hardware and all the other jargon like DF1 ports.For example i thought i had a good handle on ABs range until i heard PLC5 mentioned???
QUESTION-Where can i get RS logix programming tutorials and what kind of programming cable do i need between my PC and 5/02 CPU.
QUESTION-If i master RSLogix with the SLC range is it similar and therefore a transferrable skill to their other ranges like MIcro logix.

One day i hope to be the guy answering the questions not asking them.Until then i thank you in advance for for your time and advice

haggis said:
Hi there,
Im fairly new to Plc,s and have been trying to understand the extensive range of Allen Bradley PLCs with the intention of buying a second hand one to program. I have decided to go with an SLC500 with a 5/02 CPU to begin with so i can build it up as i learn.
QUESTION-Am i correct in thinking that i will need a 5/03 CPU or above if i want to create a PLC network in the future.
No, the 5/02 connects to a DH485 network. You will need an AIC module to connect to more than one node. The 5/03 is also DH485, but it can do online edits. (You don't have to stop the program to make changes)

QUESTION-Where can i get RS logix programming tutorials and what kind of programming cable do i need between my PC and 5/02 CPU.
You will need a 1747-PIC module for a serial port or a 1747-UIC for USB.

QUESTION-If i master RSLogix with the SLC range is it similar and therefore a transferrable skill to their other ranges like MIcro logix.