Dosing Pump control

kedardahivale

Hello,i am a final year student of instrumentation, I have this project in which i have to do optimum chemical dosing in water for that i am using a digital dosing pump(Grundfos DDC pump)But i am not getting how should i do this automatically by using PLC in short, how should i control that pump by using PLC.please help me

It depends!

Can you measure the concentration of the chemical in your process? Is it sufficient to have the dose be a constant proportion of the water flow? What instrumentation do you have in place?

We won't do your project for you.We will ask you questions to put your thoughts in the right direction. As a final year student you should already know the fundamentals of feed forward and feed back control!

thanks for the reply sir, we have turbidity sensor and a magnetic flow meter, based on the value of turbidity we need to do dosing

so you have two inputs, one if the flow of the water and one is the turbidity.
suppose you only use the flow sensor to drive the pump, it will only work when turbidity of the influent stays the same, so you will need a cascade control, when turbidity is low enough slowdown the pump.

Thank you sir for your reply,I will use the cascade control technique but the problem i am facing is, the pump i am using is digital dosing pump of GRANDFOS company and i am not getting how should i control that pump by using PLC

Hi kedardahivale !!

1.You need to consider the flow rate for proper Dosing.Depending on the flow rate you are suppose to control the speed of the dosing pump.Tune a PID in PLC which works in a way like "If the flow is more,proportionally the dosing should be more, hence increase the speed of the dosing pump".And then in this case provide a Correction signal to your PID from the turbidity Analyzer in the form of a Closed Loop.

If you don't have a Variable Frequency Drive to control the speed of the pumps you can:-
2.Using Turbidity as an analog input to the PLC