Questions about building my career

scotty88

Hi there, I'm new to the PLC world and I'm going to be going all in soon and I was wondering if anyone could lend me insight or send any advice my way.

I'm a 4th year Electrical Apprentice at the moment and I live in Calgary, AB, Canada. I'll be finishing my apprenticeship in about a years time. I'm also looking at taking the first of five PLC courses at SAIT (Southern Alberta Technical Institute) in September. The course covers the following:

This course helps the students building a solid foundation with a basic knowledge of Contrologix and other Logix systems such as CompactLogix, FlexLogix, DriveLogix, and SoftLogix. Topics covered are: Logix family, ControlLogix system hardware and configuration, basic PLC instructions, Timer and Counters, and PLC project development. The students will design, connect, program and troubleshoot the operations of many practical industrial control applications.

What I'm trying to find out is what I can do to maximize my chances of success in this industry. I'm currently reading through the PLC introduction on this website. Basically I feel like I'm sitting here wasting time until September.

Any information, stories, comments, tips, etc would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Well it looks like that in North America Allen Bradley is the gold brand, so making that course will put you in the same ship than a lot of people that know how to make it.

Getting experience in the PLC world is never a fast process, you'll face plenty of different situations in your everyday tasks and this will make you a better programmer each day.

From my point of view, the PC control technology is getting stronger every day as it looks like that conventional brands (allen Bradley, siemens, Omron, Schneider...) tend to make new devices based on PC tech. apart of course than other brands like Beckhoff, B&R, ... which are already doing that.